Hetty Startup, public historian

working to enrich place-based learning

Squam and the Poetry of Place

Leave a comment

Sarah Sousa

IMG_0233

I’ll write a longer blog post in a few days about my amazing experience leading seven writers through a six-hour found poetry workshop at the Squam Arts Retreat where we braved the chill of our renovated sugar house classroom (COLD few days in NH), dodged some well-fed, yet still hungry mosquitoes, but were rewarded with the above: blue sky, blue water, sun (almost 70)  and, in my case, the sight of two deer swimming toward shore at 6 a.m. Whew, that was one sentence, kind of sums up those intense five days of Squam for me.

IMG_0214

Home for five days, my cottage (which I shared with an old friend from Maine) aptly named ‘Bungalow’

IMG_0191

The day I broke camp fireplace rules (because I didn’t read the rules) and kept the fire burning all day. The night before had been in the 40s, outside and in. ‘Nough said.

IMG_0190

Standing in the…

View original post 276 more words

Leave a Reply

